One Man Funk Band Max Frost Rocks The Entry

Upsahl, Mikey Mike, and Max Frost visit the 7th Street Entry during Max’s Gold Rush tour

Max Frost, Photo by Travis Meier

Last updated on March 20th, 2019 at 11:49 am

The saying “one-man band” is normally used to describe someone who is either a loner or someone with a lot of skills. It’s almost impossible to do successfully in the modern music era. The amount of work that goes into a single may as well be as long as a Minnesota winter. Max Frost is the perfect example. The one-man funk band who single-handedly dazzles crowds stopped by the 7st Street Entry, with special guests Upsahl and Mikey Mike, on his latest Gold Rush tour.

Upsahl started out the show with her cool jazzy riffs about relatable, real-life topics. Some of her hits include “All My Friends Are Rich,” “Stressed,” and popular single “Drugs.” They are each from her latest five-track album, Hindsight 20/20.

Upsahl, Photo by Travis Meier

Mikey Mike followed. A hairy, bearded fellow, he has a simple message: “do you.” Having a much lighter stage presence than Upsahl, his set emphasized following dreams and having a lot of fun doing it. Mikey had a very…interesting performance. At one point, he invited a fan onstage to flip a coin for a chance to either burn his chest hair or take a shot from his tour boot. Luckily the fan wanted the hooch and didn’t infest The Entry with the lovely smell of burning follicle. Shooting the boot, the fan embraced the smell and taste of sweaty popcorn B.O. with a cinnamon whiskey finish. Since he was a good sport, Mikey Mike took one too.

Mikey Mike, Photo By Travis Meier

Evidently he takes a shot at every show, at least According to his keyboard player Christina Castle. His remarkable stage presence did not disappoint, and neither did the bold marketing campaign of his T-shirts. Claiming he owes $2.3 million in child support, he plastered the message on benches and billboards all over Los Angeles.

Christina Castle and Mikey Mike, Photo By Travis Meier

Max Frost took the stage in style, blasting lights with a 60’s projector rolling in the background. He kind of looked like a greaser. Far from Ponyboy from The Outsiders, though, it was indeed the headliner. A combination of looped beats and guitar then began, as Frost went into the first song, “New Confessional.”

Max Frost, Photo by Travis Meier

Looking for other band members, I quickly realized he was it. The greaser, fake projector, and a lot of instruments put on the closing act. Max Frost wow’ed the crowd by jumping between instruments and effortlessly moving through a docket of beats, guitars, and singing. At one point, he played two different guitars at once to make it through the songs. He kept the show moving after the hybrid of goofiness and seriousness of the two opening artists, filling the Entry with a 60s funk vibe with a modern twist. A cover of none other than the Queen B herself (“Irreplaceable”) was a highlight.

Max Frost, Photo by Travis Meier

As the night moved on, the music messages and band members dwindled, but the show didn’t slow. The creativity and talent of Frost made it even better. Each mix built from scratch showed how unique and powerful the “one-man band” mentality can be.


  1. New Confessional
  2. $Dreams
  3. *Drum Moment*
  4. Paranoia
  5. Anti Up
  6. Sometimes
  7. Nice and Slow
  8. Eleven Days
  9. Anxious
  10. A$$hole (No Apologies)
  11. Die Young
  12. Slow Jamz (Stranger)
  13. Put It On Me
  14. Shimmy Ya
  15. Withdrawal
  16. Money Problems
  17. Adderall
  18. White Lies


  1. Let Me Down Easy
  2. Irreplaceable (Beyonce Cover)
  3. Good Morning

Written by Travis Meier

Black coffee drinking traveling photojournalist based in NE Mpls!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Sad summer fest, festival, new tour, 2019, march 19

Sad Summer Fest: The New Warped Tour?

The Monkees at Mystic Lake

The Monkees’ Best Kept Secret: Their Music is Really, Really Good