Fans can vote their favorite band into the 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Last updated on February 18th, 2022 at 10:05 pm

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is letting fans vote for the nominees of the 2020 induction ceremony. Music lovers from around the world can pick their five favorite artists from a list of 16 classic performers. 

Those who reach the top five will be included in the “fans’ ballot” to be considered along with ballots from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation.

The 16 artists who are currently under consideration represent the impressive diversity in rock music. The list includes solo acts, bands, and multi-talented artists who create in musical styles of industrial rock, psychedelic rock, metal, hip hop, funk, grunge, and pop.

Some artists reached their height of fame as early as the 1960s, a few who are still active today. The one thing they all have in common is that they each altered the landscape of rock music.

This isn’t the first year some of these musical groups have been nominated for induction. Depeche Mode, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Nine Inch Nails, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and Todd Rundgren have all been denied entry in previous years.

Pat Benatar, the Dave Matthews Band, the Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, The Notorious B.I.G., Motorhead, Soundgarden, T. Rex and Thin Lizzy have made the list for the first time this year.

When voting went live in October, Pat Benatar held the most fan votes. An 80s rock icon, Benatar has four Grammy Awards, two multi-platinum albums, and 15 top 40 singles.

As of late November, Benatar fell to second place under the Dave Matthews Band. The other top spots on the leader board belong to the Doobie Brothers, Soundgarden and Judas Priest.

Fans can submit their choices every day until the end of the voting period on January 10. The induction ceremony will take place on May 2, 2020, in Cleveland, Ohio.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was established in 1983 by the chairman of Atlantic Records, Ahmet Ertegun. The foundation celebrates those artists who have made significant contributions to rock music.

The first group of musicians who were inducted includes such legends as Buddy Holly, Chuck Berry, Elvis Presley, and Ray Charles.

Written by Bo Weber

Supporting artists since 2014


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Yotto at Studio B in Minneapolis - by Music in Minnesota

All of the Feels with Electronic Music’s Odd Man Out: Yotto at Studio B

Top 5 Best USB Microphones 2022